Posted in Devarim on Sunday, 26 June 2011.

At the Covenant of the Parts, Avraham was promised “the (land of the) Kenites, the Kenizites, the Kadmonites, the Chitites, the Perizites, the Refa’im, the Amorites, the Cana’anites, the Girgashites and the Jebusites” (Bereishis 15:19-21). Rashi explains, “There are ten nations listed here, but He gave them only seven nations. The other three, Edom, Mo’av, and Amon, which are the Kenites, the Kenizites, and the Kadmonites, are destined to be our heritage in the future.”

Thus, here we read that the Jewish people were forced to circumvent these three lands, because, “I will not give you any of their land as an inheritance” (2:9)in the current era.

Why will the ownership of these three lands only take place in the future? The Mitteler Rebbe explains that the seven lands which the Jewish people already possess correspond to the seven emotional attributes of the soul, and that the three lands which will be acquired in the future correspond to the three intellectual faculties of the soul.

In the current era, God commands us primarily to “conquer” our emotional attributes—to coerce and ultimately transform our “animalistic desires” toward the service of God.

In the future however, when this “conquest” is complete, the main occupation of the Jewish people will be to develop the intellectual bond between man and God—i.e. the three intellectual faculties, represented by the three lands of Edom, Mo’av, and Amon.

Thus, in the last moments of exile, Chabad Chasidus has emerged, which brings knowledge of God to the three intellectual faculties of Chochmah, Binah and Da’as—a “taste” of what is soon to come.

(Based on a public letter written by the Rebbe on the 3rd day of Selichos 5750)

Social Bookmarks

Comments (0)

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.

Cancel Submitting comment...